You are here


UPDATE: Enrolment Management Process

** The below information affects K-9 students, not students in 10, 11 and 12 for 2018/2019 ** 

Dear Families,

Thank you for your patience as we work through the enrolment management process. While it is the district's responsibility is to ensure space for our 20,000 students across Abbotsford schools, we can appreciate the very personal effect this has on your child and family.

After carefully examining enrolment across the district and Non-Catchment requests, we are able to make preliminary decisions for some children currently attending a non-catchment school. If you have submitted a Non-Catchment Request, you can expect to be receiving an update this week from your child’s school.

Please be advised that schools have been grouped into three categories based on enrolment pressure in the school.

A) Mild Enrolment Pressure:

The majority of Non-Catchment Requests for 2018/2019 school year have been approved. (Aberdeen, Bradner, Upper Sumas, Barrowtown, Dave Kandal, Jackson, Dr. T.A. Swift, Dr. Roberta Bondar, Matsqui, Mt. Lehman, Prince Charles, Terry Fox, Ten-Broeck, Eugene Reimer, Colleen and Gordie Howe, Rick Hansen)

B) Moderate Enrolment Pressure:

The majority of Non-Catchment Requests for 2018/2019 school year, for students attending the school for 4 or more years, have been approved. For students attending for less than 4 years, many decisions have been deferred for further examination. (Alexander, Blue Jay, Centennial, Clearbrook, Dormick Park, Godson, Harry Sayers, John Maclure, Ross, and Robert Bateman)

C) High Enrolment Pressure:

The vast majority of Non-Catchment Requests have been deferred and we expect we will be unable to accommodate those requests. Final decisions will be made after June 15 or September 7. (Margaret Stenersen, McMillian, Mountain, Sandy Hill, W.A. Fraser, Clayburn, Abbotsford Middle, Chief Dan George, Yale, Abbotsford Senior, W. J. Mouat)

We appreciate your understanding as we go through the process of ensuring all students have appropriate space in our schools. If you have questions, please contact your school principal.


Carla Danielsson, Angus MacKay & Gino Bondi
Assistant Superintendents

Current until: Friday, August 31st, 2018
Posted: Friday, June 1st, 2018